Main content start

FAQs

FAQs

There have been views in the community that the Government should step up subsidisation for local students who attain “3322” in the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination (HKDSE) to pursue degree education. The objective of the NMTSS is to leverage on the supply of self-financing post-secondary institutions to allow more eligible secondary school graduates to be subsidised in pursuit of undergraduate programmes.

On the other hand, many sub-degree students have worked very hard and strived for academic excellence. To subsidise more sub-degree graduates to articulate to relevant top-up degree programmes, eligible self-financing top-up degree programmes are also covered under the NMTSS.

The NMTSS covers full-time self-financing locally accredited local and non-local first-year-first-degree and top-up degree programmes offered by the eligible institutions1 . For details of the programmes and institutions, please refer to this webpage <www.cspe.edu.hk/nmtss>. Students who are enrolled in programmes not covered under NMTSS are not eligible for subsidy.


1 Including Caritas Institute of Higher Education, Centennial College, Chu Hai College of Higher Education, Gratia Christian College, HKCT Institute of Higher Education, Hong Kong Art School, Hong Kong Institute of Technology, Hong Kong Nang Yan College of Higher Education, Hong Kong Shue Yan University, The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Metropolitan University, Tung Wah College, the Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong and the School for Higher and Professional Education under the Vocational Training Council, UOW College Hong Kong and Yew Chung College of Early Childhood Education (as in 2021/22 academic year).

The subsidy is applicable to Hong Kong students who have attained –

(a) “3322” in the HKDSE when they are enrolled in eligible self-financing first-year-first-degree programmes.

“3322” refers to level 3 for Chinese Language and English Language and level 2 for Mathematics Compulsory Part and Liberal Studies. Admission to individual programmes may require higher attainment and the latter shall prevail where appropriate.

(b) sub-degree qualifications (i.e. after completing relevant locally accredited Associate Degree or Higher Diploma programmes) when they are enrolled in eligible self-financing top-up degree programmes.

The following students are not eligible for subsidy–

(a) students who have already obtained degree qualifications; or

(b) students who are enrolling in any subsidised undergraduate or sub-degree programme (such as University Grants Committee-funded programmes, subvented programmes of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, and SSSDP subsidised places).

If the relevant institutions accept applicants to use combined certificates in fulfilling the “3322” requirement, then these students are eligible for the subsidy.

If the relevant institutions accept applicants to use past HKDSE results, then these students are eligible for the subsidy.

When applying for eligible self-financing first-year-first-degree programmes, non-Chinese speaking students who sit in the HKDSE may use alternative Chinese language qualifications (e.g. Applied Learning Chinese subject in the HKDSE, GCE-Chinese (A-level/AS-level/O-level), GCSE-Chinese, or IGCSE-Chinese) to replace level 3 in Chinese Language. The NMTSS covers such non-Chinese speaking students.

Students holding Hong Kong Advanced Level Examination (HKALE) results that meet the minimum general entrance requirement for admission to undergraduate programmes, i.e. grade E in Use of English and Chinese Language & Culture, as well as grade E in at least two A-level subjects or equivalent (two AS-level subjects counted as one A-level subject) can also apply for the subsidy.

Students with qualifications like International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma, GCE A-level etc. but without “3322” in the HKDSE are not eligible for the subsidy when they are enrolled in eligible self-financing first-year-first-degree programme (please also see Q. 6 and 7).

Students holding Advanced Diploma or Professional Diploma but without relevant sub-degree qualifications (i.e. after completing relevant locally accredited Associate Degree or Higher Diploma programmes) when they are enrolled in eligible self-financing top-up degree programmes, are not eligible for subsidy.

Although the student holds a sub-degree qualification, as he/she does not meet the requirement of NMTSS for having attained “3322” in the HKDSE when he/she is enrolled in the first year of the eligible self-financing first-year-first-degree programme, he/she is not eligible for subsidy.

Graduates of part-time locally accredited sub-degree programmes are eligible for subsidy when they are enrolled in eligible full-time self-financing top-up degree programmes in relevant disciplines.

No. Students enrolling in first-year-first-degree undergraduate places need to obtain level 3 or above in English Language in the HKDSE to be eligible for the subsidy (please also see Q. 6).

Non-local students are not covered under the NMTSS.

Students who apply for the subsidy under NMTSS for the first time or students receiving the subsidy and going to change the programme of study for the first time are required to submit applications. Applications should be made through the eligible institutions to which students are admitted. The Education Bureau has made arrangements with the relevant institutions for students who wish to receive the subsidy to declare whether they are eligible for the NMTSS. Students (or their parents/guardians) should confirm their eligibility by completing the application form, preferably before paying the first instalment of tuition fees.

Students receiving the subsidy and will continue with the programme that they are pursuing are not required to re-submit the application every academic year but must inform the institutions concerned as soon as possible in case of subsequent changes to the information provided on the application form.

Eligible students only need to pay the tuition fees net of subsidy on a pro rata basis. After vetting students’ eligibility, subsidies will be disbursed to the relevant institutions based on their actual enrolment of eligible students.

The annual subsidy will be tenable for the normal duration of the relevant programmes. Both new and continuing students are eligible for subsidy. For details of normal duration of individual programmes, please refer to the websites of NMTSS (www.cspe.edu.hk/nmtss) or iPASS (www.cspe.edu.hk/en/ipass/index.html).

If students require more than the normal duration of a programme to graduate due to academic reasons such as retaking courses, taking extra credits, or participating in overseas exchange programmes, subsidy under the NMTSS is not tenable for the study period beyond the normal duration of the programme.

We will consider adjusting the subsidy amount annually in accordance with the movement of the Composite Consumer Price Index.

Yes. Eligible students can still apply for financial assistance with the Student Finance Office of the Working Family and Student Financial Assistance Agency in respect of the actual amount of tuition fees payable.

Yes, but students can change programme once only after they start to receive subsidy under NMTSS.

A student having attained “3322” in the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination and enrolling in a first-year-first-degree programme may change to another eligible first-year-first-degree programme of any discipline. If a student has attained sub-degree qualifications and is enrolling in a top-up degree programme, he/she can only change to another eligible top-up degree programme of a relevant discipline.

A mechanism has been put in place to monitor the annual increase in tuition fees of eligible programmes operated (e.g. allowing any increase of tuition fee up to the rate of Composite Consumer Price Index). For exceptional cases with full justifications for necessary improvements in teaching and learning, prior approval by the Education Bureau is required.

No, there is no age limit under the NMTSS. Nonetheless, students still need to meet the relevant eligibility requirements under the NMTSS.

The main objective of the NMTSS is to allow more eligible secondary school graduates to be subsidised in pursuit of undergraduate programmes.

Sub-degree graduates who wish to pursue further studies will be subsidised when they articulate to relevant eligible top-up degree programmes.

Main content start

常见问题

常见问题

社会上一直有意见认为,政府应增加资助,让更多在香港中学文凭考试中考获「3322」成绩的本地学生获资助入读学士学位课程。免入息审查资助计划旨在通过自资专上院校的供应,让更多合资格的中学毕业生升读学士学位课程时受政府资助。

另一方面,不少修读副学位课程的学生有志于学,力求佳绩。为了让更多副学位毕业生升读相关衔接课程时受资助,免入息审查资助计划将涵盖合资格的自资衔接课程。

免入息审查资助计划涵盖合资格专上院校 1 提供的全日制经本地评审本地及非本地自资首年学士学位及衔接学位课程。有关获纳入免入息审查资助计划的院校及课程资料, 请参阅网页< www.cspe.edu.hk/nmtss >。学生如修读未有纳入免入息审查资助计划的课程,将不符合申请资格。


1 包括明爱专上学院、明德学院、珠海学院、宏恩基督教学院、港专学院、香港艺术学院、香港科技专上书院、香港能仁专上学院、香港树仁大学、香港恒生大学、香港都会大学、东华学院、职业训练局辖下的香港高等教育科技学院及才晋高等教育学院、香港伍伦贡学院及耀中幼教学院。(2021/22学年)

 

申请资助的香港学生须符合下列要求:

(a) 如报读合资格的自资首年学士学位课程,须在香港中学文凭考试考获「 3322 」的成绩。

「3322」指中国语文及英国语文取得第三级成绩,数学必修部分及通识教育科取得第二级成绩。个别课程的收生要求或高于上述成绩,收生将以后者为准(如适用)。

(b) 如报读合资格的自资衔接学位课程,须具有副学位资历(即修毕相关的经本地评审副学士学位或高级文凭课程)。

以下学生不符合申请资助的要求:

(a) 已经获取学位资历的学生;或

(b) 同时修读资助学士学位或副学位课程(例如大学教育资助委员会资助课程、香港演艺学院资助课程或「指定专业/界别课程资助计划」(SSSDP)下获资助学额)。

只要相关院校接受申请的学生使用合并的文凭试「3322」 成绩入读学士学位课程,则这些学生可获资助。

只要相关院校接受申请的学生使用往届文凭试成绩入读学士学位课程,则这些学生可获资助。

参与文凭试的非华语学生在报读学士学位课程时,可使用其他中文资历(例如香港中学文凭考试应用学习中文科目、普通教育文凭考试( GCE ) 、 综合中等教育证书考试(GCSE)及国际普通中学教育文凭考试(IGCSE)),代替中国语文科第三级的成绩。免入息审查资助计划涵盖这些非华语学生。

在香港高级程度会考中考获符合入读学士学位课程基本入学要求的成绩[即取得中国语文及文化、英语运用,以及最少两科高级程度科目E级成绩或同等学历(两科高级补充程度科目等同一科高级程度科目)]的学生亦可申请本资助。

持有国际预科文凭、普通教育文凭高级程度考试等资历的学生,因没有在香港中学文凭考试中考获「3322」成绩(请参阅第6及7题),并不符合资格,不会获得资助以修读自资首年学士学位课程。

若学生持有高等文凭或专业文凭等资历,但没有相关副学位资历,则不符合资格,不会获得资助以修读自资衔接学士学位课程。

虽然学生持有副学位资历,但他/她没有在香港中学文凭考试中考获「3322」的成绩,未能达到资助计划对修读合资格自资首年学士学位课程所订的要求,所以他/她不符合资格,将不会获得资助。

兼读制经本地评审副学位课程的毕业生在入读相关的合资格全日制自资衔接学位课程时将获得资助。

不可以。入读首年学士学位课程的学生须在文凭试英国语文科考获第三级或以上,才符合资格获得资助(请参阅第 6 题)。

此资助计划不适用于非本地学生。

首次申请资助或已获资助但首次转换课程的学生均需要递交申请表。申请须经学生入读的合资格院校办理。教育局已和相关院校作出安排,让希望获取资助的学生申报是否合资格参与资助计划。我们建议学生(或其家长/监护人) 最好在缴交首期学费之前填妥申请表,以确认是否符合资格得到资助。

已获资助并将继续修读有关课程的合资格学生无须每学年重新提交申请表,但如申请表内所填报的资料日后有更改,必须尽快通知院校。

若学生符合计划的资格,在缴交学费时可缴付已经按比例扣除资助后的学费。在核实申请资格后,教育局会因应相关院校取录的合资格学生人数,向院校发放资助。

按年提供的资助将于合资格课程的正常修业期内发放。新生及旧生皆可获资助。关于个别课程的正常修业期,请参阅资助计划的网页(www.cspe.edu.hk/nmtss)或经评审专上课程资料(iPASS) (www.cspe.edu.hk/sc/ipass/index.html)。

若学生因为学业原因,例如重读、修读额外科目、到海外作交换生等,而导致需要修读比正常修业期长的时间才毕业,资助计划不会涵盖额外的修业期。

我们会考虑按香港综合消费物价指数每年调整资助金额。

可以。合资格学生仍可就实际缴付的学费向在职家庭及学生资助事务处辖下的学生资助处申请相关学生资助。

可以,但学生在获得资助后只可转换课程一次。

在香港中学文凭考试考获「3322」成绩并就读首年学士学位课程的学生可转读另一合资格首年学士学位课程,而具备副学位资历并就读相关合资格衔接学位课程的学生,则只可以转读另一相关范畴的合资格衔接学位课程。

我们已设立机制,监察相关课程的学费增幅,例如容许院校以不超逾综合消费物价指数的升幅调高学费。如有充分理据支持在有关课程须在教与学方面作出必要改善,我们会考虑例外情况。所有例外个案必须获得教育局事先批准。

 免入息审查资助计划不设年龄限制,但学生仍须符合免入息审查资助计划的相关资格。

免入息审查资助计划的主要目的,是让更多在文凭试中考获「3322」成绩的学生获资助入读首年学士学位课程。

有志继续升学的副学位毕业生在入读相关的合资格衔接学位课程时将获得资助。