Quality is of utmost importance to the self-financing post-secondary sector. Currently, there are two quality assurance bodies in Hong Kong to monitor the quality of the post-secondary education sector. The Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications (HKCAAVQ) is a statutory body responsible for the quality assurance of all programmes except those offered by self-accrediting institutions*. The Quality Assurance Council (QAC) has been established under the aegis of the University Grants Committee (UGC) and functions as a semi-autonomous body under the UGC. It aims to assist the UGC in assuring the quality of all programmes at the levels of sub-degree, first degree and above (however funded) offered by UGC-funded institutions.

Launched in May 2008, the Qualifications Framework (QF) is a seven-level hierarchy covering qualifications in the academic, vocational and professional as well as continuing education sectors. It seeks to establish an accessible articulation pathway to promote and support life-long learning with a view to continuously enhancing the quality, professionalism and diversification of Hong Kong’s workforce.

As part of the Government’s effort to support the development of the QF, the Designated Support Schemes for QF encourages and assists education providers in seeking accreditation of their programmes and register the qualifications and programmes on the Qualifications Register.

In order to enhance coordination between quality assurance (QA) agencies, the Government has established the Liaison Committee on Quality Assurance (LCQA) which now consists of representatives of the Education Bureau, the HKCAAVQ, and the QAC. The objectives of the LCQA are to promote sharing of good practices among the QA agencies and enhance consistency and transparency so as to strengthen accountability.

* The nine self-accrediting institutions are: City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Baptist University, Lingnan University, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, The Education University of Hong Kong, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, The University of Hong Kong, and The Open University of Hong Kong. The Education University of Hong Kong is one of the UGC-funded institutions which has self-accrediting status in respect of its teacher education programmes at degree and above levels as well as three programme areas covered by its existing Programme Area Accreditation (PAA) status, namely Chinese Studies, English Studies and Environmental Studies. Its programmes in other areas are subject to validation by HKCAAVQ.

Back to Top
Last Review Date: 23/01/2017